Quidditch through the Ages

HP9

Rating: 5/5 β˜…

“Oh the thrilll of the chase as I soar through the air
With the Snitch up ahead and the wind in my hair
As I drew ever closer the crowd gives a shout
But then comes a Bludger and I am knocked out”

This book is the best non-fiction (is it a non-fiction tho?) book I’ve ever read. It was my top favorite for a while before it got replaced by The Book Thief πŸ˜€
It gives a detail and clear history of how and when Quidditch came into being. Like, you would never believe the sports wizards used to play before Quidditch took over. There’s a fascinating history of how and why The Golden Snitch was made. You will also learn what used to happen to the keepers and how much today’s Quidditch is different from the game of the ancient days. There’s a chapter dedicated to the teams of Britain and Ireland and their explicit details.
The way Whisp demonstrate the chapter to chapter birth of Quidditch will leave you wonder whether this is really a real thing and after you’re done with it, you’ll stand up, wrap your cloak around you, grip your wand and announce to the world that you’re going to see and enjoy a match of this magnificent sport. That is of course before you realize there is no such thing and you’ll just sit down in disappointment. Which will of course, make your heart ache.
I’ve read this book more than five times and since it’s tiny I carry it around with me to feel like I’m home. I read its enthralling pages over and over again and still can’t get enough. Maybe one day I might memorize everything that’s in there.
The point is, Rowling made everything in the Wizarding World completely spellbinding but Quidditch, in my opinion, is the best thing in all of her creation. Not even one of the best thing but THE best thing.
I, personally love Quidditch more than books (and that’s saying something) πŸ˜€
Oh dear! I’m supposed to be writing about Quidditch Through the Ages not the sport but oh well …
So if you’re a fan of the Wizarding World and you want to know how Quidditch was made, where it came from, what was the earliest name of Bludger and what are the certain rules for playing this mesmerizing game then I suggest you give this book a try. Trust me you won’t regret it. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

