The Hobbit

 hobbit-movie-spectacular

Rating: 5/5 ★

“If more of us valued food and cheer and song above hoarded gold, it would be a merrier world.”

Indeed it would have been. The Dwarves’ and the Dragon’s love for gold and other treasures is unbelievable.

I read The Hobbit, I think it would have been either 2015 or 2016 but I wasn’t into the whole Tolkien universe as much as I am now. Even as I’m sitting here writing this I have a crazy urge to start reading a Tolkien book, but *sigh* that’s a topic for another time. Let’s talk about the awesomeness of this book. I did not go blindly into this book because I had already seen the Lord of the Rings movies and I was, somewhat, familiar with the story. But even though I enjoyed the adventure of Mr. Bilbo Baggins immensely, it wasn’t fast paced and there were moments when I wasn’t sure what was going on. The creatures, the scenery, the characters are very much to the readers liking. You even fall in love with the Dragon who is supposed to be the great villain. Reading this book one wishes he or she can just be a Hobbit. I mean, who wouldn’t?

After I read this book I proceed to read the first book of the LOTR. Once again I enjoyed the story but it bored me and the same was with the second book, The Two Towers. Due to that I could only read a few chapters of the third book, The Return of the King, but I never get to finish it.

I’m not a big fan of movies but I’ve always loved The Hobbit and the LOTR movies. So when I found out that there’s going to be a Middle-Earth themed book challenge on Instagram, I decided to reread The Hobbit and the first two LOTR books to give it another chance. I re-watched the movies with much concentration and it felt like I was watching them for the first time. 😀 After that I couldn’t wait to reread The Hobbit and so, I jumped into the wonderful world of Middle-earth and now it feels like another fictional home.

I adore hobbits; they’re so peaceful and cute. They like to keep to themselves and don’t bother with adventures or any such tiring stuff. Bilbo Baggins is no exception. He likes a quiet life and would prefer nothing better than to stay in his Hobbit hole. But that is all changed when a wizard named Gandalf comes to his house and whisks him away on an adventure far away from  the comfort of his home. The story isn’t just about Mr. Baggins, however, there are thirteen Dwarves also with whom Bilbo is traveling. These Dwarves used to rule under the mountains which were filled with gold and other valuable treasure. All those riches attracted a great dragon named Smaug. He drove the Dwarves from their halls and a lot of them were killed . Now these Dwarves, along with Gandalf the wizard and the Hobbit, Bilbo Baggins (who is going to be their burglar) must travel to the mountains to reclaim their home and treasure from Smaug. But the journey is long and perilous; they will face giants, goblins, wolves, trolls and giant spiders.

All through the story I kept thinking how easy it would have been if they had a private jet or a chopper but of course that was just a stupid thought. 😀 Everything about the setting of the story is breathtaking. If I had the courage to face all the evil that the company faced, I would love to journey around Middle-Earth. I would fancy nothing more than to meet the Hobbits, the Elves, the wizards and even the humans of this amazing fictional world. Ugh! I feel home sick now!

I’m looking forward to rereading this book again next year. 🙂

Leave a Reply

