The Book Thief

tumblr_nrwnisGHdK1svvlqko1_400

Ratings: 5/5

“I wanted to tell the book thief many things, about beauty and brutality. But what could I tell her about those things that she didn’t already know? I wanted to explain that I am constantly overestimating and underestimating the human race-that rarely do I ever simply estimate it. I wanted to ask her how the same thing could be so ugly and so glorious, and its words and stories so damning and brilliant.”

I know I’ve been gone for a long time but I guess that’s what I do right? 😀 I’m actually almost done with my exams but there’s a huge gap between my second last and last exams and I already wrote this review during my exams days so I thought I’ll just go ahead and post it. Keeping in mind that I conjured this review in my head while I was in the toilet in the middle of the night. 😀

So there are millions of words and sentences I would write that would explain why I love this book and it still won’t be enough. I picked this book up because everybody was talking about it when it was newly released and my sister told me that the narrator is Death himself so obviously I had to give it a try and it was one of the best thing I ever did. I mean unique narrator? Come on!

The story is set in the time of World War II and Hitler. The story follows a German girl named Liesel. She and her brother are supposed to be taken to a foster home but her brother dies on the way and she is sent alone. When her brother is being buried, Liesel sees a book in the snow called, The Grave Digger’s Handbook. She steals that book and so she gets obsessed with owning books.

Liesel is a very interesting character because I see a little bit of myself in her. Not just the books part but other traits too. I love how much thirst she has for learning stuff and how she’s able to stand up for herself when the time comes. And I love how she’s not afraid to chase her dreams. She’s pretty good at almost everything. Like, she’s not even afraid of stealing books for the Mayor’s library. Guyz! The Mayor!

Her foster father is a great gentleman and I have a kind of love-and-hate relationship with her foster mother. They’re both likable characters because the way they care for Liesel is so heartwarming and moreover, they being Germans IN Germany, they do something that I’m pretty sure none of us would have the heart to do; they hide a Jew in their basement. Us I know, shocking right?

I believe the Jew is a great friend of a friend of Hans (Liesel’s foster dad) and he wants to keep him safe. That whole German-family-hiding-a-Jew-in-their-basement theme was my favorite part of the book. I really enjoyed Liesel and her family spending time with Max.

Another character is Liesel’s best friend, Rudy. Ah Rudy! I love that guy! He’s so fun to read about and he’ll break your heart in the end but that’s okay, all the good characters we fall in love with do that. Rudy is with Liesel in pretty much everything and his feelings for her is a little more than a friend. He’s fierce and unafraid. Like Liesel he likes to pursue his dreams.

This book was my very first Historical Fiction novel and it opened this whole passion of Historical Fictions in my heart. Of course, I haven’t read any other novel from this genre but I am sure going for it.

The narrator of this book is plenty of fun to follow on his journey. The story he tells is not of his … life?… but the way he narrates Liesel’s and people associated with her is worth the read. I fell in love with the book on the very first sentence of the very first chapter.

One thought on “The Book Thief

Leave a Reply

